Follow PicSat on
   Twitter30width    Youtube30width
French version   English version    
Logo transparent
Unravelling the Beta Pictoris System
MISSION STATUS:
Picsat is: not responding since 2018-03-20
Number of telemetry packets received today:
0
Last beacon satellite:
2018-04-07 20:45:22 UTC

Last beacon payload:
2018-03-20 01:00:08 UTC

Uplink is not active
Downlink is not active

Telemetries Overview

What are telemetry packets?

The space segment (also known as "the satellite") of a space mission generates a lot of data, which must be transferred to the ground segment (aka the ground station) via the radio-communication link. These data which go from space to ground (downlink) are called telemetries, and can be of several different sorts, from science data to house-keeping data, or even error reports.

The Picsat mission uses a specific packet communication protocol, based in large part on the CCSDS (Consultative Comittee for Space Data Systems) standards, to transfer telemetries generated in space to the Earth. In this standard, a packet, which represents the elementary piece of information which can be transferred, may contain multiple datapoints, but all of the same type (house-keeping data are never mixed with science data, error reports are not mixed with house-keeping or science data, etc.). During radio communications, a packet is considered to be absolutely indivisble. If only one byte is missing at the receiving end, the packet cannot be decoded, and all the data contained within are lost.

Telemetry packet categories

In the PicSat mission, there are a total of 28 different categories, each dedicated to a specific type of data:

What is the life cycle of a telemetry packet?

Multiple different data are constantly being genereated withing the satellite subsystems (sensors are acquiring measurements, the processor is converting raw science to reduced science, event reports are generated, crucial information about the states of the different subsystems are stored in memory, etc.). These data stored in the memory of the satellite cannot be analyzed by our team of Earthling scientists until they are physically somewhere down here. The only way to get these data on the ground is to sent them from space to Earth using the PicSat onboard radio transmitter. But for them to be properly received by a ground station located at least 600 km below the satellite, they need to be properly sorted and organized. These data are thus aggregated by the processor to form homogenous data packets (or frames). These CCSDS packets typically have a size of about 200 bytes, and can be directly sent to the ground, or stored in the SD card to be retrieved later on.

When a packet is transmitted by the satellite, and retrieved by a station on Earth, it is unpacked, and the data contained within are automatically read by a computer, and stored in a dedicated database located at LESIA, in Meudon, France. This database can then be accessed by our automatic data reduction software to be further processed, and then by our team to be analysed. The database is also directly accessed by this website to generate the graphs and plots you can see here and there.

If you have set up your own station and have already started to receive data from our satellite, you also have access to the unpacked data you received and uploaded on this site. You can use our download page (availble after the launch) to retrieve them on your computer and do whatever you want with them. These data are yours!

Telemetries receieved per day (last 10 days)
Telemetries received per category
Telemetries received per user

Follow PicSat on
   Twitter30width    Youtube30width
French version   English version    
Logo transparent
À l'assaut des mystères du système
de Beta Pictoris
STATUT DE LA MISSION :
PicSat ne répond plus depuis le 20 Mars 2018
Paquets de télémétries reçus aujourd'hui :
0
Dernière balise satellite :
2018-04-07 20:45:22 UTC

Dernière balise charge-utile :
2018-03-20 01:00:08 UTC

Lien montant inactif
Lien descendant inactif

Aperçu des Télémétries

Que sont les paquets de télémétrie ?

Le segment spatial d'une mission (plus simplement connu comme "le satellite") génère toujours une large quantité de données différentes, qui doivent être transférées au segment sol (station de communication) via une communication radio. Ces données qui sont envoyées depuis l'espace vers la Terre (lien descendant) sont appelées "télémétries". Elles peuvent être de différentes sortes, allant des données scientifiques constituant l'objet principal de la mission aux données de maintenance, utilisée pour vérifier le bon fonctionnement du satellite, en passant par des rapport d'erreurs ou d'évènements.

La mission PicSat utilise un standard de communication par paquets inspiré du standard CCSDS (Comité Consultatif pour les Systèmes de Données Spatiales) utilisé par les grandes missions spatiales, mais largement remanié pour les besoins spécifiques d'une mission au format CubeSat. Dans le cadre de ce standard, un paquet est l'unité élémentaire de communication, qui peut être transmise et reçue. Un paquet peut contenir plusieurs points de données, mais nécessairement du même type (par exemple, les données scientifiques ne sont jamais mélangées à des données de maintenance). Du point de vue de la communication radio, un paquet est considéré comme absolument indivisible. Si un paquet est tronqué à l'émission ou à la réception, il ne peut pas être lu, et toutes les données qu'il contient sont perdues.

Catégories des paquets de télémétrie

La mission PicSat fait usage d'un total de 28 catégories différentes, chacune étant dédiée à un type de données spécifique :

Quel est le devenir d'un paquet de télémétrie ?

De nombreuses données sont constamment générées par le satellite et ses sous-systèmes (les capteurs font des mesures, le processeur traite les données scientifiques, des rapports d'évènements sont générés, des informations importantes sur les modes d'opération sont stockées en mémoire, etc.). Ces données à bord du satellite ne peuvent pas être analysées par nos équipes de scientifiques Terriens tant qu'elles ne sont pas physiquement au sol. Pour les ramener ici-bas, la seule possibilité est d'utiliser l'émetteur radio à bord du satellite. Mais pour que toutes ces données puissent être correctement récupérées au sol, 600 km en dessous du satellite, il faut qu'elles soient rangées et organisées avant d'être envoyées. Les données sont donc agrégées par l'ordinateur de bord du satellite, puis groupées dans des paquets homogènes. Ces paquets ont une taille typique de 200 octets, et peuvent être directement envoyés vers la Terre, ou bien enregistrés sur la carte SD pour être récupérés plus tard.

Lorsqu'un paquet est transmis par le satellite, et reçu par une station sur Terre, les données sont d'abord dépaquetées et lues automatiquement par un ordinateur, avant d'être enregistrées dans une base de données dédiée, située au LESIA, à Meudon. Les données de la base peuvent ensuite lues par notre logiciel de réduction de données, puis analysées par notre équipe. La base de donnée est aussi directement interrogée par ce site internet pour former les différents tableaux et graphiques que vous pouvez y trouver.

Si vous avez mis en place votre propre station de réception, et avez commencé à recevoir des paquets de données PicSat et à nous les envoyer, vous avez aussi accès à vos données dépaquetées dans notre base. Vous pouvez utiliser notre page de téléchargement (disponible après le lancement) pour obtenir une copie vos données, et en faire ce que voulez : elles vous appartiennent !

Télémétries reçues par jour
Télémétries reçues par catégories
Télémétries reçues par utilisateur