Follow PicSat on
   Twitter30width    Youtube30width
French version   English version    
Logo transparent
Unravelling the Beta Pictoris System
MISSION STATUS:
Picsat is: in a polar orbit at 505km altitude
Number of telemetry packets received today:
1261
Last beacon satellite:
2018-01-22 01:01:20 UTC

Last beacon payload:
2017-12-08 17:04:33 UTC

Uplink is not active
Downlink is not active

Orbital Map

The PicSat orbit is not perfectly known yet, and the data shown here are only estimates.

PicSat is orbitting the Earth at an altitude of about 600 km. At this altitude, the satellite is moving at about 8 km/s, and is completing an orbit in 90 minutes.

If you want to receive telecommunication packets from the satellite, you need to wait for it to be above your station, in direct visibility from your antenna. The period during which the satellite is above your local horizon, hence during which you can communicate with it, is called a pass. The number of passes you can expect every day, and their duration, are highly dependant on your station location and altitude. Stations close to the poles have more passes, which are also longer.

You can use the tool below to predict the next passes of PicSat above your station.

PicSat pass prediction tool

Enter the coordinates of your location (or any other location), and hit the "predict" button to get all passes for the next 3 days.
Latitude (+ North, - South):    Longitude (+ East, - West):    Altitude:   
Orbit Number Pass Begins Pass Ends Maximum Duration

Orbital map and current position of PicSat

This is the map of the orbital trajectory of PicSat above the Earth, for the next 3 hours. Each black circle represents the position at the surface of the Earth directly below the satellite, taken at one minute intervals. The orange circle is the current position of the satellite.

The strange trajectory that you can see is due to the geometrical projection of the circular orbit on the map. Remember that PicSat is on a polar orbit! So when, near the pole, the satellite seems to abruptedly change direction, it is actually continuing on an almost straight trajectory right above the pole. It goes from the South pole straight to the North pole, passes above it to the other side of the planet, and then goes back to the South pole. And because the Earth is slowly rotating below the satellite, the orbits do not perfectly overlap each other, but drifts toward the West (the Earth is rotating from West to East).

Follow PicSat on
   Twitter30width    Youtube30width
French version   English version    
Logo transparent
À l'assaut des mystères du système
de Beta Pictoris
STATUT DE LA MISSION :
PicSat ne répond plus depuis le 20 Mars 2018
Paquets de télémétries reçus aujourd'hui :
0
Dernière balise satellite :
2018-04-07 20:45:22 UTC

Dernière balise charge-utile :
2018-03-20 01:00:08 UTC

Lien montant inactif
Lien descendant inactif

Cartographie de l'Orbite


PicSat est en orbite autour de la Terre, à environ 600 km d'altitude. En conséquence, le satellite se déplace à environ 8 km/s, et boucle une révolution entière autour de la planète en seulement 90 minutes.

Pour espérer recevoir des communications en provenance de PicSat, il est nécessaire d'attendre que le satellite soit au dessus de la station, en visibilité directe des antennes. La période durant laquelle le satellite est au-dessus de l'horizon local, et donc durant laquelle il est possible de communiquer avec lui, est appelée visibilité. Le nombre et la durée des visibilités sont largement dépendants de la position et de l'altitude de la station. PicSat étant en orbite polaire, les stations proches des pôles ont les visibilités les plus longues et les plus nombreuses.

Vous pouvez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour calculer les visibilités de PicSat depuis votre position.

Outil de prédiction des visibilités de PicSat

Entrez les coordonnées de votre station, et appuyer sur "prédire" pour obtenir la liste des visibilités de PicSat pour les 3 prochains jours.
Latitude (+ Nord, - Sud):    Longitude (+ Est, - Ouest) :    Altitude :   
Numéro d'orbite Début de visibilité Fin de visibilité Maximum de visibilité Durée

Cartographie orbitale et position actuelle de PicSat

Voici une carte représentant la trajectoire orbitale de PicSat au dessus de la Terre durant les trois prochaines heures. Chaque cercle noir représente le position sur la surface de la Terre située exactement sous le satellite. Le cercle orange donne la position actuelle de PicSat.

Cette trajectoire étrange, au cours de laquelle le satellite semble changer brutalement de direction au niveau des pôles, est en fait un effet purement géométrique. Cette carte donne une représentation planne (sur les deux dimensions de l'écran) d'un phénomène fondamentalement tri-dimensionnel. Le satellite est sur une orbite circulaire, polaire. Depuis le pôle Sud, il remonte vers le pôle Nord, passe au dessus, se retrouve de l'autre côté de la planète (c'est à ce moment que, sur la carte, le satellite semble changer de direction), puis redescend vers le pôle Sud, pour une nouvelle orbite. Les orbites successives ne se superposent pas parfaitement, parce que la Terre tourne lentement en dessous du satellite. En conséquence, la trajectoire semble dériver vers l'Ouest au fur et à mesure des orbites (la Terre tourne d'Ouest en Est).